International Award

To gain an Award, participants must complete activities in four sections (five for the Gold Award) for a specified minimum period of time. Participants decide what they would like to do for each section.


Participants engage with their community and discover the impact they can have through:

  • Community service projects
  • Conservation work
  • Voluntary service in hospitals or community homes
  • More specialised training such as lifesaving, first aid or rescue services

Adventurous Journey

The Adventurous Journey is about adventure and discovery. Participants develop an understanding of the environment, and the importance of working together in a team with a common purpose. It can be on foot, by bicycle, boat or on horseback. Training, preparation, self-sufficiency and self-reliance are the key elements.


The Skills Section is about developing personal interests and learning practical skills. There are almost limitless possibilities to choose from. There is no set standard that participants must reach: they set their own goals and measure their progress against them.

Physical Recreation

By undertaking some form of organised and regular physical activity, participants show perseverance and improve their fitness. Their goal is to record their individual progress. Most team and individual sports are included, such as football, athletics, and archery.

Residential Project

This is only a requirement at Gold level. It aims to broaden experience through living and working with others (who are not everyday companions). The project takes place over a period of five consecutive days. It requires resilience, adaptability and consideration for others.