September / January (18-Month Programme) Intakes 

The A Level syllabus is designed to prepare students for university study, which is why universities worldwide value and recognise A Level qualifications from UK examination boards. The three examination boards used at Epsom are:

  • AQA (Assessment and Qualifications Alliance)
  • CIE (University of Cambridge International Examinations)
  • Edexcel (owned by Pearson)

Examination boards offer a choice of 55 different subjects and schools can offer them in almost any combination. This flexibility means schools can build an individualised curriculum, and learners can choose to specialise in a particular subject area or study a range of subjects. At Epsom, 21 A Level subjects are offered for September intake. For the 18-Month Programme (January intake), 7 subjects are offered.

The aim of studying A Levels is for students to develop a deep understanding of subjects, as well as independent learning and constructive thinking skills – abilities which universities value highly.

The syllabuses are international in outlook, but retain a local relevance. They have been created specifically for an international student body with content to suit a wide variety of schools and avoid cultural bias.

Giving students the power to choose their subjects* helps motivate them throughout their studies. This flexibility gives schools the building blocks to build an individualised curriculum that develops knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • in-depth subject content
  • independent thinking
  • applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations
  • handling and evaluating different types of information source
  • thinking logically and presenting ordered and coherent arguments
  • making judgements, recommendations and decisions
  • presenting reasoned explanations, understanding implications and communicating them clearly and logically
  • working and communicating in English
*Applicable for September intake only